Tags

, , , , ,

Ok, so this piece has been an uphill battle pretty much from the beginning.

I was almost finished painting when, what all watercolor artists dread happening, happened….. I overworked a section of the painting. Really overworked it. I mean really. It’s mud. And it’s smack dab in the middle of the painting.  Crap.

So, I was angry at myself for a bit, (rookie mistake) then there was the feeling sorry for myself stage, ( I suck at this, why am I doing this,….blah, blah, blah ) now I am at the “Well, now I know not to do THAT again,….”  stage.  Movin’ on.

It does leave me with a question for myself. When is it time to let an idea go? I mean, this idea I have in my head has not exactly flowed gracefully into completion. Most  times there is a little bit of a struggle, or hurdle at some point in each piece.  But I am left wondering with this one whether to put it down and walk away for a bit, or just plain old walk away? You see this concept is very personal to me.  And yesterday an acquaintance pointed out that the idea has been done before (mirrors), suggesting that it was not as good a piece as one of my portraits. I have been mulling that idea over as well. Does that make it a less “valid” piece of art , simply because other artists have used reflections and mirrors as a vehicle to express their ideas?

I don’t think so, so I will revisit this painting at some later date and maybe it will be even better because of the struggles and changes. After all, the process is sometimes as important as the finished product.

